Financial support for new transformers at the Flumenthal power station thanks to Xamax

Building on its many years of experience of Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) competitive tenders, Xamax AG has won CHF 180,000 of financial support for new transformers at the Flumenthal run-of-river power station. To do so, Xamax professionals worked closely with Alpiq Hydro Aare AG, the hydropower station operator.

The SFOE puts energy efficiency measures out to tender through its specialist department ProKilowatt every year. After the operating company tested the older transformers in the Flumenthal power station, Xamax formulated an appropriate support project, entitled “Efficient Transformation”. By means of the new models and their lower loss levels, ProKilowatt estimates that a total of 5,600 MWh of electricity can be saved over a useful life of 25 years. Moreover, this quantity represents additional production for the power station.

In June 2018, the Federal Office of Energy granted Xamax and Alpiq Hydro Aare AG the sum of CHF 180,000, representing approximately one fifth of the investment costs. The three new transformers should enter operation during 2018. Xamax has valuable experience of the ProKilowatt financial support programmes. Because of this, Xamax and Alpiq Hydro Aare are looking into further possibilities for collaboration.

Through the ProKilowatt programme, the Federal Office of Energy supports energy efficiency measures to reduce electricity consumption in the industry, trade and services sectors as well as by households. Funding is granted to projects and programmes that save as much electricity as possible per provided Swiss franc. The ProKilowatt financial support is funded by an electricity grid surcharge. Up to CHF 50 million is available annually for competitive calls for tenders.

Subventions pour les nouveaux transformateurs de la centrale de Flumenthal grâce à Xamax

Grâce à sa longue expérience des appels d’offres de l’Office fédéral de l’énergie (OFEN), Xamax AG a remporté 180 000 francs de subventions pour les nouveaux transformateurs de la centrale au fil de l’eau de Flumenthal. Pour y parvenir, les spécialistes de Xamax ont étroitement collaboré avec Alpiq Hydro Aare AG qui exploite cette centrale.

Par l’intermédiaire de ProKilowatt, l’OFEN lance chaque année des appels d’offres pour des mesures d’efficacité énergétique. Après que la société exploitant la centrale de Flumenthal eut vérifié ses anciens transformateurs, Xamax a élaboré un projet de promotion dénommé « Une transformation efficace ». Selon les estimations de ProKilowatt, les nouveaux modèles et leurs pertes réduites permettront d’économiser 5600 MWh d’électricité sur la durée d’exploitation de 25 ans. Cette quantité représente un supplément de production pour la centrale.

En juin 2018, l’Office fédéral de l’énergie a accordé la somme de 180 000 francs au projet de Xamax et Alpiq Hydro Aare AG, ce qui représente environ un cinquième des coûts d’investissement. Les trois nouveaux transformateurs devraient être mis en service en 2018. Xamax dispose d’une précieuse expérience des programmes d’encouragement de ProKilowatt. C’est pourquoi Xamax et Alpiq Hydro Aare explorent d’autres possibilités de collaboration.

Au travers du programme ProKilowatt, l’Office fédéral de l’énergie subventionne des mesures d’efficacité énergétique afin de réduire la consommation d’électricité des ménages, de l’industrie, de l’artisanat et des services. Les projets et les programmes soutenus sont ceux qui permettent d’économiser le plus d’électricité possible par franc d’encouragement. Les fonds versés par ProKilowatt proviennent d’un supplément perçu sur le réseau électrique. Environ 50 millions de francs sont disponibles chaque année dans ce cadre pour les appels d’offres.